Bernie Mac makes off-color joke at Obama event

July 12, 2008 at 4:03 pm | Posted in Barack Obama, Bernie Mac | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Comedian Bernie Mac endured some heckling and a campaign rebuke during a surprise appearance Friday night at a fundraiser for Democratic presidential candidate Barack Obama.

Toward the end of a 10-minute standup routine at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Chicago, the 50-year-old star of “The Bernie Mac Show” joked about menopause, sexual infidelity and promiscuity, and used occasional crude language.

“My little nephew came to me and he said, ‘Uncle, what’s the difference between a hypothetical question and a realistic question?'” Mac said. “I said, I don’t know, but I said, ‘Go upstairs and ask your mother if she’d make love to the mailman for $50,000.'”

As the joke continued, the punchline evoked an angry response from at least one person in the audience, who said it was offensive to women.

“It’s not funny. Let’s get Barack on,” a man shouted from the crowd, which paid $2,300 each to support the Illinois senator.

About 15 minutes later, Obama tried to smooth things over with a joke of his own.

“We can’t afford to be divided by race. We can’t afford to be divided by region or by class and we can’t afford to be divided by gender, which by the way, that means, Bernie, you’ve got to clean up your act next time,” Obama said. “This is a family affair. By the way, I’m just messing with you, man.”

The incident drew response from Obama’s campaign, which criticized Mac for his choice of material.

“Sen. Obama told Bernie that he doesn’t condone these statements and believes what was said was inappropriate,” spokeswoman Jen Psaki said in a statement after the event.

Mac, a Chicago native, said he’s a longtime Obama supporter and called the presumptive Democratic nominee a “man’s man” while offering him advice for the duration of the campaign trail.

“People like rumors. They’re going to say things like you was at the club with Lil’ Kim, and you and Kanye West got into a fist fight,” he said. “You can’t get upset. You’ve got to keep hope alive.”

Mac’s appearance was Obama’s first celebrity event of the evening. Later at a Lincoln Park nightclub, Obama spoke to a raucous crowd of music fans, who paid up to $500 per person to see a performance by Wilco lead singer Jeff Tweedy, and two other band members.

“Before these guys go, I want them to know that I had heard a rumor that they had suggested that I had nothing by them on my iPod,” Obama said. “That is not true. I love Wilco.”

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The mac Man is cool, the people just wanted to see Obama!!!

  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  3. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! srezg and 3637uctemrktbw and 79 : I will try to recommend this post to my friends and family, cuz its really helpful.

  4. I savour, cause I found just what I was having
    a look for. You have ended my four day long hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  5. There is certainly a lot to find out about this subject.
    I like all the points you have made.

  6. I quite like reading a post that can make people think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  7. Howdy would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog
    loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?

    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  8. Its such as you read my thoughts! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the
    book in it or something. I think that you just could do
    with some % to drive the message house a bit,
    however instead of that, this is wonderful blog.
    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

  9. Your style is unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity,
    Guess I’ll just book mark this site.

  10. I think the admin of this web site is actually working hard
    in favor of his web page, as here every stuff
    is quality based data.

  11. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading
    it, you happen to be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog
    and may come back from now on. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your
    great job, have a nice evening!

  12. I am sure this article has touched all the internet
    viewers, its really really nice post on building up new website.

  13. Pretty! This was a really wonderful article. Thank you for
    supplying this information.

  14. I do believe all the concepts you’ve introduced on your post. They’re really convincing and can definitely work.

    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for novices.
    May you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

